The Path that Led Me to Crowdfunding

I have this idea for a base for my award-winning product, the Stikitty.

The Stikitty is a cat litter mat fashioned after a cleanroom tacky mat. These mats sit outside cleanrooms and workers step on them to ensure all of the dirt and gunk from their shoes are removed before they enter the sanitary environment. Not long ago I accidentally spilled kitty litter on one and realized it gripped cat litter like nothing I’d ever seen.

A product idea was born! Knowing how much cat litter mess bothered me, I researched to determine if there would be a market for my sticky cat litter mat. As it turns out, the majority of cat owners report that cat litter tracking is the number one headache of owning a cat. Further research showed that many cat owners were not happy with the current cat litter mat options.

Cookie with the Stikitty

Cookie with the Stikitty

Encouraged, I had the Stikitty manufactured and packaged and it is now selling via retail pet shops, online merchandisers like SkyMall and Amazon.com, and my own Web site. My customers and potential customers tell me they like the way my product works, they’re just not thrilled with the way it looks.

So I went back to the drawing board and designed a base into which the Stikitty could slide. This base would be made of a waterproof material that is safe for cats and appealing to their humans. I’m choosing animal prints as those are very hot in the pet industry today!

Stikitty System: One of the World's Most Innovative Cat Litter Mat Systems

Stikitty System: One of the World’s Most Innovative Cat Litter Mat Systems

With the Base and the Stikitty (now acting as a Refill for the Base), I’m creating one of the world’s most innovative cat litter mat systems.

But to do so, I need funding. Having been rejected for more traditional funding–multiple times–I decided to check out crowd funding. This is where everyday individuals donate small amounts of money to help entrepreneurs launch their initiatives.

I had heard of Kickstarter before so I went to them first. I filed my patent application, filled out the online forms, and hit submit to have my project approved.

It was rejected.

“How much rejection can a person take,” I wondered.

(Sneak preview of my campaign as described in the next post:http://igg.me/at/stikitty/x/3229527)

Leave a Reply

